The following steps must be followed by applicants for a Kansas Notary Public Commission:

  1. You must meet the eligibility requirements of each state (see below).
  2. Purchase your $7,500 4-year surety bond.
  3. Get your Notary seal stamp.
  4. Complete the application form.
  5. Send your application to a Notary Public. They will administer the oath, sign it, and attach their Notary seal.
  6. Send the completed application along with an impression of the Notary seal to the Secretary of State. Include your bond information, oath, and $25 filing fee.
  7. Once your application has been processed, you will be sent a handbook, wallet card, and certificate to your home address. You can notarize documents only after you have received them from the Secretary.
  8. E&O insurance is strongly recommended to reduce your financial exposure.
  9. If you feel you require additional guidance or training, it is strongly advised that you continue education.

Get started now with your notary career.

A complete Kansas Notary Supply Pack includes everything you need.

Additional Information About the Kansas Notary Process

Find out how much it costs and how long it takes for you to become a KS Notary public.

What is the cost of this?

The $25 state filing fee will now be $10. The vendor you choose will determine the cost of your bond and seal, as well as an optional journal.

The cost of commissioning will vary depending on whether you’re a new or renewal Notary. Prices for supply packages vary between vendors. Experienced Notaries may require more help with how to do things. For most new Notaries, books, training and expert assistance are essential.

Some vendors will package items with additional fees, such as processing fees. Although training can be included in the package price for new Notaries, although the quality of education may vary, it is possible to include it. While some providers may offer their own Notary courses, others don’t have the staff expertise necessary to create and support educational content. Many vendors offer Notaries live support for questions and answers. Others are not able.

What is the time frame?

To become a Kansas Notary Public, it can take up to four weeks. It depends on how available you are and how long it takes for the Secretary of State to process your application, deliver your certificate and wallet card, and handbook to you at your home address.

What is the average length of a Kansas Notary Commission?

A Kansas Notary Public Commission is for a term of four years.

Kansas Notary Public Requirements

Below are details about Notary supplies and qualifications.

Who can become Notary Public?

To become a Kansas Notary, one must meet certain requirements. All applicants must meet the following requirements:

  • At least 18 years of age
  • You must be a Kansas resident or from a neighboring state and regularly work or do business in Kansas
  • You have not been convicted of a felony or had your professional license suspended.

To be eligible for a commission, applicants must become citizens of the United States by January 1, 2022.

Are there any requirements for becoming a KS Notary?

Kansas Notaries require no training or exams.

What supplies do I need?

A Notary seal is required. The Notary seal can be either a black-inked stamp, or an embosser. However, it must include the following information.

  • Your name as it appears in your commission
  • The words “Notary Public”
  • The words “State Kansas”
  • Optional: The words “My Commission Expires _____ (date or blank)”
  • Photo of Kansas Capitol Building (optional).

Although the expiration date of your commission is not required to be on the seal, it is strongly recommended. This is necessary for all notarizations. The Secretary of State will assign the expiration date. It is recommended that you leave the date blank and complete it manually for each notarial act.

There are many vendors that offer seal stamps. Quality and durability can differ greatly between them. Because of the possibility of smudging, stamps must not bleed. If your seal is lost or damaged, a second seal will help to prevent downtime. An embosser can also help protect you from fraud.

You will be required to keep an electronic or tangible journal starting January 1, 2022. An electronic journal must have tamper-evident pages. A permanent, bound journal must have numbered pages. One physical journal may be kept at a given time. You may also have multiple journals if you are only recording remote notarial acts.

Most vendors sell supplies in packages. This can often result in savings. All vendor packages may not be equal. They can have varying quality and content. You may need different tools depending on whether you’re a new Notary, renewing your commission, or if you have to do multiple notarizations.

Do I require insurance or a surety bond?

Yes. Kansas Notaries must have a $7,500 four year bond. Many people also purchase optional errors and mistakes (E&O), insurance policies to cover themselves against legal expenses. Kansas does not require E&O insurance.

The bond requirement will rise to $12,000.

General Notary Public Information

Have more questions about Notaries? We’ve got you covered.

What state government office is responsible for Notaries?

Kansas Secretary of State is located in Topeka (KS) and issues Notary Public Commissions.

Kansas doesn’t require any training. But, where can you get it?

With a simple online search, you can locate reputable Notary Public training providers. Notary Public training is not offered by the Secretary of the State. The Secretary does not endorse businesses that offer workshops or seminars. The Secretary of State does not have the authority to act on a Notary Public training business. Make sure to thoroughly research any company that you are considering working with.

Is there anyone who can help me to become a Notary Public?

Yes. Yes. Many companies offer assistance in the application process, including supplies, training and insurance. Also, the Secretary of State’s website has the application with submission details, if you want to get the process started on your own.

Where can I notarize?

Kansas allows you to notarize a place in the state.

Whom can I notarize?

Notarizing documents for others is not possible, except you. You can notarize only your signature. Kansas law permits you to notarize documents for your spouse, children, or parents, but the power is limited under KSA 53-109. Your employer might limit the number of notarizations that you do during work hours if you are required to perform such notarizations.

Kansas Notaries: What fees are they allowed to charge?

Kansas does not have any maximum fees that Notaries can charge. However, it is important to keep your notarial fees within the limits of what Kansas allows. To avoid confusion, it is best to inform the signers in advance of your fees.

What happens if my name is changed or moved?

Within 30 days, any changes in your name or address must be reported to the Secretary of State. To do so, complete the Notary Public Change of Status form and submit it to the Secretary.

For name changes, you must get a new seal with your new name and submit the Notary Public Change of Status form with an impression of the new seal. A rider is required for the Notary bond.

What legal risk do I take?

It depends. It depends. Any mistake made by a Notary Public or any intentional misconduct could result in serious financial consequences for all parties. Signers have sued Notaries Public for financial damages, and even though they are innocent, lawsuits can be very costly. You’ll be more prepared for any legal action if you follow the law closely and keep detailed records.

How do I renew my Kansas Notary Commission?

Renewing a commission is exactly the same process as applying for a new one. The Kansas Secretary of State recommends that you renew your commission one month before the expiration date. To reflect the expiration date of your current commission, you may want to purchase a new Notary Seal. If your current record book is full, you may want to purchase a new journal.

How can I become an electronic notary in Kansas?

While electronic notarizations can be similar to traditional notarizations, they do not require signer and Notary physical meeting in person. However, eNotarizations use digital documents and electronic signatures. You must pass a state-approved training program, take an exam, receive a digital certificate and submit your application with a $20 information fee.

What are the basics of remote notarization in Kansas?

The temporary authorization expires on July 15 and Kansas doesn’t allow remote online notarization (RON). However, there are 38 other states that do. Learn how RONs work and where they’re legal in this article.

Beginning January 1, 2022, notaries who have an active commission will be able to register for remote notarizations. It will require you to complete a course of study, and pass an exam. More information will be provided as it becomes available.

Where To Work As a Notary in Kansas

You can work in many settings as a public notary in Kansas. Whether you decide to work for a law firm, real estate agency or a government job, there are many options available. You can also work for yourself as a mobile notary.

Where To Find Clients in Kansas

We work with notaries all over Kansas to help them find more business and make more money. If you would like to join our notary network, contact us today for more information. We work with notaries in all cities including:

  1. Wichita
  2. Overland Park
  3. Kansas City
  4. Olathe
  5. Topeka
  6. Lawrence
  7. Shawnee
  8. Lenexa
  9. Manhattan
  10. Salina
  11. Hutchinson
  12. Leavenworth
  13. Leawood
  14. Dodge City
  15. Garden City
  16. Derby
  17. Emporia
  18. Gardner
  19. Prairie Village
  20. Hays